Update 16th April 2019

Read our initial response to the revised Local Plan

Available at this link: Response to the revised Local Plan


Update 8th April 2019

The Lake District National Park Local Plan Consultation is now OPEN

Final public consultation on the revised Lake District Local Plan begins today (8th April) and runs until 5pm on June 3rd.

This consultation represents your last real chance to get involved and influence the content of the park’s ‘Local Plan’ so we would urge you to submit a response online and make yourself heard. 

A 'Local Plan' is a set of policies used to inform decisions on planning applications and appeals, and a local planning authority should review its Local Plan at regular intervals to assess whether some or all of it may need updating. In the case of the Lake District, the planning authority is the Lake District National Park Authority and this update will be the key document informing and influencing its planning decisions for many years to come.  

We welcome some of the changes to the revised plan, but some of our concerns still remain.

For example, specific references to the cable car project at Whinlatter have been dropped, but the park authority has made clear that the idea has not been ruled out. A policy identifying 'Showcase Areas' around Windermere, Derwentwater and Ullswater has also been taken out of the plan following concerns that it would intensify tourism development and relax planning controls, but there are still references to showcase areas in the text. 

You may find it helpful to read our initial response to the revised plan which is available at this link: www.friendsofthelakedistrict.org.uk/FAQs/ldnpa-local-plan-review 

Because this is a legal, formal stage, the rules are very specific on how you should comment and what you can comment on so it is important that you take the time to read the ‘Statement of Representations Procedure’ and ‘Guidance on completing the survey’ before submitting your response. 

Visit the LDNPA website at the link below to complete and submit your response. You’ll also find the links to supporting documents and guidance on completing the survey.

  Submit your response

We’ll be writing a more detailed response to this consultation in the coming weeks and will make this available online when it is submitted. If you have questions in the meantime or want to let us know your thoughts about the Local Plan then please do get in touch with us by emailing our Planning Officer at [email protected] 


Update 21st March 2019

Last summer we took part in a consultation on the first draft of a new Local Plan for the Lake District National Park. A 'Local Plan' is a set of policies used to inform decisions on planning applications and appeals.

Some 2,700 people responded to last summer's consultation - thank you if you were one of them. In response to the consultation we raised several concerns about the plans, including a focus on economic development rather than landscape conservation; some proposed allocations of land for development and the inclusion of proposal for a gondola cable car at Whinlatter.  

A revised draft has now been approved by the Lake District National Park Authority for consultation. There have been some welcome changes to the plan, but some of our concerns remain. For example, specific references to the cable car project have been dropped, but the park authority has made clear that the idea has not been ruled out. A policy identifying 'Showcase Areas' around Windermere, Derwentwater and Ullswater has also been taken out of the plan following concerns that it would intensify tourism development and relax planning controls, but there are still references to showcase areas in the text. Some proposed sites for development have been removed from the plan and others have been reduced in size.

Changes made to the plan show the importance of residents and anyone else who values the Lake District National Park making their voice heard as part of the consultations. Consultation on the new revised draft will be launched on 8 April for 8 weeks. More details will be in our members' magazine Conserving Lakeland. The revised Plan is already available to read here (pdf). 

This consultation stage is focused on whether the plan is legally compliant and ‘sound’, that is whether it is ‘positively prepared’, justified, effective and consistent with national policy. Comments at this stage should make clear how they relate to these aspects. Following the consultation, the plan and the comments received during the consultation, will be submitted to the Planning Inspectorate (expected July/August) and a Government-appointed inspector will carry out a public examination into the legal compliance and soundness of the plan (expected autumn). On this basis, we expect that the document would be adopted and come into force around May 2020.

Therefore, the forthcoming consultation is the last real chance for people to get involved and influence the Local Plan’s content, although anyone who comments at this stage can request to speak at the public examination. Keep an eye on the Lake District National Park Authority’s Local Plan review page for details of how to take part in the consultation.

12th October 2018

We recently met with the Lake District National Park Authority‘s Local Plan Team and are keen to continue a dialogue with them as the Local Plan preparation process continues.  We understand that it is likely that consultation on the next version of the Plan will take place in Spring 2019. The Lake District National Park Authority will soon be formally issuing a revised timetable for the Plan’s preparation.

We also recently attended the launch of the Lake District National Park Authority’s ‘Smarter Travel: A Vision for Sustainable Visitor Travel in the Lake District National Park, 2018-2040’. This document will sit alongside the Local Plan. We agree that it is crucial to find ways of moving visitors around the Park more sustainably, but we do have concerns about some of the approaches being considered. Although no formal consultation on the document is planned, we will liaise with the Lake District National Park Authority to help ensure that the ambitions set out are taken forward in a way that supports the conservation and enhancement of the National Park.

28th June 2018

We have responded to the Lake District National Park Authority's Local Plan review

You can find our comments here

27th June 2018

The consultation on the Lake District Local Plan Review closes on 29th June (this Friday). Please see below for information about how to comment.

12th June 2018

We have put together a page setting out our concerns about the Lake District National Park Local Plan Review.  You can find the information here : https://www.friendsofthelakedistrict.org.uk/news/local-plan-review

We have uploaded briefing documents for each of the areas of concern.  If you would like to respond to the Local Plan Review, you are welcome to use the information we have published.

The Local Plan Review closes on Friday 29th June

31st May 2018

We are currently working our way through the Lake District National Park’s Local Plan Review consultation documents.

There is a very large volume of information to read and process. We will share more detailed information about our concerns with you by the end of next week (by 8th June).

We have already picked out a number of aspects of the plan that we are concerned about including proposed green field site allocations, transport, car parking and above all, a lack of focus on the actual purposes of the National Park to conserve and enhance the natural beauty, wildlife and cultural heritage of the Lake District.

A 'Local Plan' is a set of policies used to inform decisions on planning applications and appeals, and a local planning authority should review its Local Plan at regular intervals to assess whether some or all of it may need updating.

Local Plans are generally reviewed every five years and the Lake District National Park Authority is currently in the process of reviewing the Lake District National Park’s Local Plan and asking for public comment.

Its public consultation runs from 8 May until 29 June 2018. More information about the consultation is available on the Lake District National Park’s website: http://www.lakedistrict.gov.uk/planning/local-plan-review